How much I earn is none of your concern!

Plead the Fifth

What question do you hate to be asked? Why?

This could be one of those questions I guess which makes it ironic…

Everybody has secrets and there are questions they avoid… I used to hate it when people asked me who I liked or who I had a crush on. Now that I’m married, it’s easily avoided. I just say my wife and they get off my case.

Now, the question I usually avoid is how much money I make. I’m not someone who likes to boast but I don’t see the point in hiding it either. With my friends, it’s different… I don’t mind bragging as a joke but I don’t see it as a big deal. I make a lot of money with my job but I don’t overspend and I see myself as a normal 24 year old guy. However, some people see it differently and start to treat me differently.

They resent me when I tell them how practical my job is compared to theirs and how much money I can earn in a day. Truth be told, I work just as hard as everybody else and I had to work my way to where I am today. It’s just that I planned it all out before hand and now I am in a position where I can enjoy my life with a stable and financially strong occupation.

Another question that goes along with it is how often I work. Unlike most people, I don’t work a full week… I work 3-4 days a week but these days are usually 12 hours long with over two hours of commute included. So I pretty much need a day’s break in between to recover mentally. So when they hear I only work half a week or so, they dismiss me as somebody who doesn’t work hard for a living. They think I’m not ambitious and that I have life easy.

I prefer to enjoy my life whilst I can but when I work, I work very hard. Often my day starts at 10am and doesn’t end until midnight… Now this can be a very tiring thing to do, even if it’s only 3 or 4 times a week.

I guess I’m complaining/ranting over something that’s not really a big deal but this is just how I feel in regards to such things. I prefer to keep my work private and don’t like people’s attention on my financial status.

3 responses to “How much I earn is none of your concern!

  1. You know I agree with you it seems these days certain people are trying to get a read on you trying to see if you’re on their level of work experience I work as a bagboy it’s not an exciting life but it’s something that helps me pay the bills I’m trying like hell to really change my surroundings but like I said folks want to know if you’re similar like them in experience and you’re right I hate to be asked how much you make I mean I just want them to say what work you do that’s all I know it’s annoying but at lease it’s polite well up to it

    • Yeah… But I often avoid that as well. Like if I ask and then I tell them I myself am a pharmacist, they suddenly feel that the is a gap between our social status or something. Or at least that’s how I feel they feel sometimes. I try to be as normal as possible but I think people judge you or expect to be a certain way depending on your job.

Leave a Reply

